The Sky

clouds_seamless_02

I sat and watched the clouds for a time.  Then I searched my archives and saw how many of my poems are inspired by the sky.

THANKSGIVING

November Wisconsin countryside
Bare trees elegant against the sky
Colors in the landscape muted now.
October’s glory is gone
And love grows eternally.

Published in SMILE (Fall/Winter 2008 – 2009).
Joyce M. Johnson, Editor/Publisher.
(This excellent bold print journal is now out of print.)

*

afternoon light
blue-grey skies
and water

give them a stage
to shine
seagulls

*

sunrise
seagulls and clouds
fill the sky

mid-day
December sun
from the south
shines on
a Psalm

short days
stars brighten
winter sky

star_2Images: wpclipart.  I also discovered that wpclipart has many gingerbread pictures.  Here are a few!

gingerbread_snowflakegingerbread_stargingerbread_wreath