WordPress Prompt – Going Obsolete

The Daily Post prompt today is Going Obsolete:

“Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?”

Large album covers occur to me first – though I know they are not extinct – as CDs became more popular.  I remember Joni Mitchell’s paintings, for example.  Her official website posted an update about her health on June 28, 2015.

The old album covers gave the artists a larger space.  The visual art was a part of the music.  I am not current with all the ways people listen to music now.

I think I will always enjoy both work online and print journals and books.  As I’ve said often, I see collaboration.  I have old books from my parents that I may never read, but they are a part of this room.

During my mother’s last illness, we kept her newspapers and books near, even though she was not reading then.  We read to her, and their physical presence was a comfort – represented who she was in an essential way.

One thought on “WordPress Prompt – Going Obsolete

Comments are closed.