each flower a star for a time

red-flowers-2

“Wild Orange-Red Lily” picture is courtesy of Karen’s Whimsy.

It’s the season of so many flowers now.

Our peonies are blooming at last and seem to be more abundant this year.  The daylilies are blooming away from Lake Michigan, and the plants and leaves are growing strong here in the yard.

Karl and I went for a walk in the neighborhood yesterday.  I enjoyed seeing wildflowers and the different ways people garden – from the formal to the more wild.  All so lovely.

* * *

A favorite haiku I wrote another year.

each flower
a star for a time
daylilies
Daylillies 003

A few more of my favorite haiku about wildflowers:

loved for years
and now I know your name
blue chicory

how does it stay
so regal on this day?
Queen Anne’s Lace

growing older
goldenrod and roses
refreshed by rain

* * *

Post updated on July 11, 2014.
The photo is by Karl.

18 thoughts on “each flower a star for a time

  1. This picture reminds me of the tiger lilies my mother grew in the window box under my bedroom window! I love calla lilies, day lilies of all kinds, Easter lilies…and for me, each of them is “a star for a time.” Lovely post.

    Like

Comments are closed.