My Soul … As A Weaned Child Psalm 131

Today is the 8th anniversary of my mother’s passing.  I am full of memories, from all the years we had together on this blessed earth.  We shall meet again.  Love endures.

PSALM 131: 1-2 (KJV)

Lord, my heart is not haughty,

nor mine eyes lofty: neither do I

exercise myself in great matters,

or in things too high for me.

Surely I have behaved and quieted

myself, as a child that is weaned of

his mother: my soul is even as a

weaned child.

Image courtesy of antiqueclipart.com.

12 thoughts on “My Soul … As A Weaned Child Psalm 131

  1. A lovely way to honor your mother Ellen and although she physically cannot be seen, her memory is alive and present in spirit.
    My favorite line: “my soul is even as a weaned child.”
    Thank you for your visiting
    ~Peace to you!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Patti. After my mom was called Home, I read about grief on-line. I think people are more comfortable with the topic now. When my dad died in 1983, though, my mom said to me, “Don’t expect too much from other people. They don’t like to be reminded of their own mortality.” I am grateful to have had so much time with her in her old age.

      The support from blogging friends is so real and special! I remember you spoke of this too on your blog.

      Blessings to you and yours, Ellen

      Like

  2. Remembering with you. Lord bless you, Ellen! You’ve chosen the right portion from the Word of God.
    In His joy,
    Maria

    Like

  3. How I can identify with you! It’s nearly 20 years since my mother died, and she is with me every day! I frequently share her quotes, which are full of wisdom and humor. Good memories are so precious!

    Like

    1. Dear Margaret, Nearly 20 years…what a mystery is time. How wonderful you feel your mother with you every day.

      What are some of her quotes? My mom said things like, “God works in mysterious ways.”

      Like

Comments are closed.