In Morning Sky’s White Winds I Walked: Poem and Photos by Susan Firer

Photo by Susan Firer

In Morning Sky’s White Winds I Walked

I left the house that for days had been full
with winds’ strange new songs. On every floor
rattling windows, music coming out of outlets,
out of the places where walls connect. Outside
the world was all movement.
I walked among the wind-flying
papers & plastic bags that wind-full
looked like souls caught in branches.
The wind fat filled my clothes.
It seemed my feet would not hold
to earth.  I walked through blowing children,
blue recycle bins, colored gift
wrappings of the just past seasons, &
all the newsprint of the trembling world.
At the lake I stood billowing like any of the earth’s
winged things on the border’s edge of flight.

From Susan Firer’s book:  Milwaukee Does Strange Things To People, New & Selected Poems 1979-2007 (The Backwaters Press, 2007).

She is Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of English, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Susan’s Awards include the University of Wisconsin Distinguished Alumnus, 2009; Council for Wisconsin Writers Lorine Niedecker Poetry Award, 2009;  Milwaukee Poet Laureate, 2008-2010.

http://www.susanfirer.com

Photo by Susan Firer