Daily Prompt: High Noon

pansy-02

Yesterday, the Daily Post at WordPress.com said: “At noon today take a pause in what you’re doing or thinking about.  Make a note of it, and write a post about it later.”

I enjoyed saying hello to many of you yesterday morning and later again yesterday.  Thank you!

At High Noon here we were walking out the back door and on our way to be with family in Milwaukee.  The day was beautiful and the roads were fine.  A cup of coffee this morning is all I need for breakfast.  I love my quiet life, sitting here typing; and it was a good Christmas.

Milwaukee is family for me.  I love this city for this reason most of all.

I’m the youngest in my family, and there are so many stories people tell that I don’t recall.  And I think where was I? because I have a good memory.

It won’t surprise you to learn I was reading one book after another.  I also drew, made collages, did needlework, took a sewing class and made a suit–many things fell by the wayside over the years and can be picked up again.  I played school and became a teacher as you know.

Thanks again for your greetings yesterday morning, in the evening when I returned, and this morning.  They mean a lot to me.  We have so much in common.  I’ve had penpals since grade school and have been corresponding with dear poets for years and years.  It doesn’t seem necessary to “meet in person.”   There are connections which transcend time and place, as we all know every day.   

This is from the drive back North.

another year
gone round

and turning to the next
holiday lights on the windmill
in Cedar Grove

The image is from Reusable Art.  My mom liked pansies, and they are also hardy and one of the first flowers for sale here in the Spring.

http://www.reusableart.com

http://www.dailypost.wordpress.com

pansy-02

9 responses

  1. You have a beautiful blog here! This morning as the temperature crept up only to 11 outside, I snuggled under a quilt and read and read, smiling and amazed at the lovely pictures and poetry. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Such a lovely post. There was no traveling to see family this year – I had gone earlier, before the weather turned. I’ve no desire to fly, and I’m not buying snow tires just for an annual trip. Perhaps I could have arranged to hitch a ride on Santa’s sleigh, but that didn’t occur to me until right now.

    I do enjoy the pansies. Ours went out about three weeks ago. They’re well-established now, and will give us some color through the winter. Yesterday we went from 75 to 32, so they’re shivering a little, but they’ll survive.

    Like

Comments are closed.